If a TWO YEAR OLD can do this, why not our students??? Here is proof of a DIGITAL NATIVE

Standard

Here’s another video of a child two-year old Digital Native with an iPad. Understand that Nolan is not at all a unique case. Next time you’re on YouTube try searching any combination of the words “iPhone”, “iPad”, “baby”, “toddler”, “one-year old”, “two-year old”, etc., and you’ll see what I mean.

In many schools, “educational technology” is viewed as tools we put in the hands of teachers. Teaching technology is important and certainly belongs in the 21st century classroom, but we shouldn’t confuse it with learning technology. 21st century learning requires that technology be placed in the hands of students. We will not be able to convince children like Nolan that “disconnected” learning has any relevance to the world as he sees it.

It speaks volumes about today’s learners.

 

 

 

About cbramble1

I am a teacher at Second Street School. I am currently attending Georgetown College to recieve my Graduate Degree. I am a very busy mom of three kids...senior, 6th, and 3rd. Besides being a very busy shuttle service, I teach, coach and play tennis! I enjoy getting kids into a lifetime sport! I will graduate in August and will be one happy camper. My goal is to put technology into the hands of every kid I can!

Leave a Reply

